Skip to content

Heroines for the Planet Now Featured on Laura Turner Seydel’s Site! Plus Other Exciting News!

September 15, 2011

When Laura Turner Seydel (Ted Turner’s daughter) and her team asked if I’d begin contributing my “Heroines for the Planet” series on her new site, I wanted to scream “YES!” I’d long been a fan of Laura’s for her tireless environmental advocacy work, (not to mention the fact that I was a eco-nerd as a young girl glued to Captain Planet episodes).

But instead, I cooly replied “It’d be an honor.” I took the very advice that my co-author Nancy A. Shenker and I dish out in our book “Don’t Hook Up With the Dude in the Next Cube: 200 + Career Secrets for the 20-Something” which launches October 15th! Much more on this in future posts.

Shameless plug anyone?

In all seriousness, I am honored and thrilled for the opportunity to continue to share stories of powerful women across the globe to a larger audience. One of many upcoming heroines to look forward to is Lisa Bloom, award-winning journalist, legal analyst, trial attorney and daughter of renowned women’s rights attorney, Gloria Allred. Lisa is also the author of “think,” a book that I can’t put down right now. She wants women to stay smart in a dumbed-down world. Hear, hear!

And then there’s Marilyn Weiner. Geez, I don’t even know where to begin! She co-founded DC production company Screenscope and has produced, written and directed over 225 documentaries and four public television series (Journey To Planet Earth, Women At Work, Faces Of Man and The World Of Cooking). She and her husband Hal have also produced three feature films, won two Emmy Awards and are recipients of the National Academy of Television Arts and Science’s Silver Circle Award.

Not too shabby, eh?

And to add to my excitement, this week I was named Managing Editor of Eco-Chick.com.There, I’ll work hard with editor-in-chief Starre Vartan to be the best and most authentic “eco” dot com out there for women. We’re revamping the site, broadening our content, and it’s going to be AMAZING!

Speaking of dot coms, if you have a moment, please visit 2booms.com and join the book’s free newsletter. You’ll receive career/life/relationship tips, events, offers, blogs and much more! I promise Nancy and I won’t bombard your inbox, that’s not our style. Plus, you’ll be one of the first to see the new site when it officially launches in less than two weeks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

