Skip to content

Don’t Hide Behind Your Computer

March 18, 2011

If you ran into a friend in your local grocery store, you’d say hi, wouldn’t you? But, it seems to me, the word “friend” carries an entirely different meaning with respect to Facebook.

I walked into a local cafe today and upon entrance, I made eye contact with a gal who I’m friends with on Facebook. I would’ve said hi if only she had given me the chance. She quickly looked away and then kept her  back to me the entire time, avoiding my general area. Here’s a gal who,  just a few short weeks ago, made a rather lengthy comment to one of my Facebook posts. “Let me get this straight,” I thought. “You can leave some long, obscure statement on my Facebook wall but you cannot even say hello to me in person?”

Geez, here I was thinking we were “friends.”

And more recently, I’ve been paying quite a bit of attention to the “comments” left on online articles. Believe it or not, this little, old blog has bent all sorts of people out of shape, conservatives by en large. Hmm. I wonder why that is? But anyway, I choose to not approve many of those simply because I don’t like that sort of energy in my space. After all, this is my personal blog, not the New York Times. If you’re interested in Glenn Beck esque banter, turn on Fox. And why the heck are you wasting your precious time leaving me a novel about why I’m a “Marxist” or how I’m an “environmentalist with my head in the clouds?”

After reading such nasty comments I always scratch my head and ponder “would this angry person say this to my face if he/she were presented with the opportunity?” And I’ve concluded that most people who leave wacky, crazed “comments” on articles probably wouldn’t.

It’s easier to hide behind a computer screen.

Similarly to the insecure person who isn’t social at a bar until they have their first alcoholic beverage, I think the internet allows people to “grow a set of balls” (pardon the expression) and say things in a certain way which they wouldn’t otherwise convey in person.

I don’t respect that in a person. Do you? We should remember to be the same person, in person, that we are behind our computers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 7:35 PM

    Brilliantly and honestly said, Lindsay!! Before anyone hits “submit” or “send” he/she should read a post aloud in front of a mirror! If it’s not something you would want said to your own face, don’t put it on someone’s space! 🙂

    • March 19, 2011 9:09 AM

      Thank you, Nancy! I couldn’t agree with you more! Here’s an article that you’ll get a kick out of from the NYT. Don’t Call Me, I Won’t Call You -http://nyti.ms/e5MgnX Pretty soon we’re all going to be walking around with computer screens on our heads! 😉

Leave a Reply

