Skip to content

10/10/10: Central Park Work Party for 350.org

October 11, 2010

October 10, 2010, will be a day I will never forget. Our Central Park Work Party came together this morning at 10AM to make a statement. And Central Park listened.

I must admit, when I first hatched the idea to hold a Work Party in Central Park, I was slightly concerned my boyfriend Dan and I would be the only ones “rallying”. Central Park is, afterall, one of New York City’s most historic landmarks and I just felt that there needed to be a 10/10/10 Work Party there. Even if it was just little old Dan and I.

Sure enough, just a few minutes after 10AM, enthusiastic New Yorkers began arriving to our area.  I was thrilled and relieved all at once but more than anything, I felt honored that these incredible people joined me. Of all the places they could have been, they chose to help tackle the climate crisis and send a message to our leaders along with me in Central Park. I was moved.

We were a diverse group, converging from all walks of life and generations. We shared our thoughts and experiences and our hopes and concerns with eachother. We laughed and spread a powerful message to New Yorkers as they walked and ran by. We held signs and spoke about climate change and 350 PPM.  We answered questions and had enlightening, positive conversations with our fellow citizens. We got to work in Central Park.

There’s still so much work to be done. I will certainly be posting about this very soon. But today, on 10/10/10, Central Park listened. Now we’re waiting to hear whether our political leaders will.

Please peruse some shots from our Central Park Work Party!

 

Lindsay Brown, Event Organizer

 

 

 

Dan Mennella for 350.org urges Central Park to stop CO2 emissions!

 

 

Harry Cason inspires New Yorkers and tells Central Park "No new coal plants"

 

 

A new generation sparks hope for tomorrow with their powerful "350" signs.

 

 

Damon Callahan shows his support of 350.org!

 

 

Dan Mennella and Lindsay Brown

 

 

Harry and Dan help spread the 350 message!

 

 

Lindsay Brown Loves Green Collar Economies

 

 

A woman from Slovakia stopped by to tell us that her daughter was participating in a 350 Work Party across the globe!

 

 

Central Park Work Party!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jérôme permalink
    October 12, 2010 12:47 PM

    Hi,
    nice initiative and sorry we could not make it on Sunday morning in Central Park.

    We participated in the 350 bulbs swap @ the UN:
    http://www.350.org/en/about/blogs/movement-inside-un-staff-new-york-get-work

    And we hope this is just a beginning of this people/citizen’s movement (even if it is sometimes hard to motivate people to act about climate change)…
    http://www.350.org/en/next

    Cheers!

    • October 12, 2010 5:25 PM

      Hey Jerome,
      Great to hear from you and I’m so happy to hear you got involved with the 350 Bulbs Swap at the UN. I couldn’t agree with you more. I too, hope this movement gains more awareness. I’m going to do my best to ensure it it does! Let’s stay in touch.

      My very best,
      Lindsay

  2. Jérôme permalink
    October 12, 2010 6:01 PM

    Media coverage was a bit weak (especially on NY TV networks) but there are some nice articles out there and pictures/videos are still coming to 350.org!

    http://dotearth.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/10/10/a-global-warming-work-party/?partner=rss&emc=rss
    http://environment.change.org/blog/view/climate_parties_surpass_tea_partiesand_why_that_matters
    …Comments/arguments are a bit harsh sometimes (tea party comparison).

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/corbin-hiar/101010-global-work-party_b_758108.html
    The initiator of the movement Bill McKibben was even on David Letterman last month (link on page).

    All the best & happy greening! 😀

    • October 12, 2010 10:05 PM

      I was pretty disappointed with the lack of media coverage as well. One of many reasons why I’ve created this blog 😉

      I’ve skimmed through many of the photos on the 350.org site. It’s amazing to know that you were a small part of such a wonderful movement across the globe.

      And thank you so much for the links. Will get to them as soon as I can. In the meantime, please check back in to brownlovesgreen.com as I’ll continue to cover all of the hot, very important topics in the movement that we care so deeply about.

      LB

Trackbacks

  1. They can take over the House, but they won’t defeat our climate progress. « Brown Loves Green

Leave a Reply

